Jean Monnet


The Jean Monnet Programme stimulates teaching, research and reflection on European integration in higher education institutions worldwide.


As part of the EU's Lifelong Learning Programme, Jean Monnet funds three main types of activities:

  • The Jean Monnet Action (support for university-level teaching and research projects in European integration studies) includes the creation of Jean Monnet Chairs, Centres of Excellence, Modules, information and research activities as well as support for academic associations of professors and researchers in European integration.
    Jean Monnet projects are selected on the basis of their academic merits and following a process of rigorous and independent peer review. Jean Monnet projects are run with strict respect for the principle of academic autonomy and freedom.
    Originally launched in 1989, these projects are present in 62 countries across the five continents. Between 1990 and 2009, the Action has helped to set up 141 Jean Monnet European Centres of Excellence, 775 Jean Monnet Chairs and 1,137 Jean Monnet Modules and permanent courses. These projects bring together 1,500 professors, and reach 250,000 students every year.
  • Support for six specific academic institutions: the College of Europe (with campuses in Bruges [BE] and Natolin [PL]), the European University Institute, the European Institute of Public Administration, the Academy of European Law, the International Centre for European Training, and the European Agency for Development in Special Needs Education.
  • Support for European-wide associations active in education and training and present in at least 12 EU Member States. There is a specific annual call for proposals for the selection of these associations.


More information

ECRAAL - European Centre for Research in Asia, Africa and Latin America
Rond Point Schuman 6, 1040 Brussels - Scotland House
Tel: +32 2 282 84 16