Tempus supports the modernisation of higher education and creates an area of co-operation in countries surrounding the EU. Established in 1990, the scheme now covers 27 countries in the Western Balkans, Eastern Europe and Central Asia, North Africa and the Middle East.


Tempus funds two types of actions:

  • Joint Projects: partnerships between higher education institutions in the EU and partner countries. They can develop, modernise and disseminate new curricula, teaching methods and materials, as well as boosting quality assurance and management of higher education institutions.
  • Structural Measures: to develop and reform higher education institutions and systems in partner countries; to enhance their quality and relevance, and to increase convergence with EU developments.


Partnerships are made up of consortia of organisations including higher education institutions, businesses, ministries, NGOs, and other organisations working in higher education, in both the EU and partner countries.


More information

ECRAAL - European Centre for Research in Asia, Africa and Latin America
Rond Point Schuman 6, 1040 Brussels - Scotland House
Tel: +32 2 282 84 16