Alfa is a programme of co-operation between Higher Education Institutions (HEI's) of the European Union and Latin America. Participant countries are the 27 Member States of the European Union and the following 18 countries of Latin America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.


The Alfa Programme, legally based on the EC Regulation No 1905/2006 of 18th December 2006, is defined by the following specific objectives:

  • To improve the quality, relevance and accessibility of Higher Education in Latin America;
  • To contribute to the process of regional integration in Latin America, fostering progress towards the creation of a joint Higher Education area in the region and exploiting its synergies with the European Union.


Moire information

ECRAAL - European Centre for Research in Asia, Africa and Latin America
Rond Point Schuman 6, 1040 Brussels - Scotland House
Tel: +32 2 282 84 16