The Euro-Mediterranean Partnership, formerly known as the Barcelona Process, was re-launched in 2008 as the Union for the Mediterranean. The Partnership now includes all 27 member states of the European Union, along with 16 partners across the Southern Mediterranean and the Middle East. This re-launching aimed to infuse a new vitality into the Partnership and to raise the political level of the strategic relationship between the EU and its southern neighbours. While maintaining the acquis of its predecessor, the Barcelona Process, the Union for the Mediterranean offers more balanced governance, increased visibility to its citizens and a commitment to tangible, regional and trans-national projects.


The Union for the Mediterranean identifies six priority projects which are at the heart of the of Partnership’s efforts, including projects for:  

  • The de-pollution of the Mediterranean Sea;
  • The establishment of maritime and land highways;
  • Civil protection initiatives to combat natural and man-made disasters;
  • A Mediterranean solar energy plan;
  • The inauguration of the Euro-Mediterranean University in Slovenia;
  • The Mediterranean Business Development Initiative focusing on micro, small and medium-sized enterprises.


More information

ECRAAL - European Centre for Research in Asia, Africa and Latin America
Rond Point Schuman 6, 1040 Brussels - Scotland House
Tel: +32 2 282 84 16