Eastern Partnership


The Eastern Partnership (EaP), launched in Prague on May 7, 2009, foresees a substantial upgrade of the level of engagement of the EU with the six partner countries in the East (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine). To address the new co-operation needs specifically linked to the Eastern Partnership, the

Commission has earmarked € 600 million for the period 2010-2013.


These resources will be used for three main purposes:

  • Support for partner country reforms through the implementation of Comprehensive Institution Building programmes (approximately € 175 million);
  •  Pilot regional development programmes aimed at addressing regional economic and social disparities within partner countries (approximately € 75 million);
  • Implementation of the Eastern Partnership Multilateral dimension(approximately € 350 million).


More information

ECRAAL - European Centre for Research in Asia, Africa and Latin America
Rond Point Schuman 6, 1040 Brussels - Scotland House
Tel: +32 2 282 84 16